2017 Board of Directors

Executive Committee

Dr. Leila Villaverde (President)

Professor of Cultural Foundation in the Department of Educational Leadership at the University of North Carolina, Greensboro and Director of PhD in Educational Studies. Dr. Villaverde has written books on white privilege and secondary education, and articles on identity, art education, and critical pedagogy.



Kate Weaver (Vice President)

Former VP of Leadership Gifts for United Way of Greater Greensboro





Barbara Peck (Secretary)

Public Art Consultant for the Downtown Greenway since 2008, during which time she has coordinated the commission and installation of eight public artworks in Greensboro. Barbara is a graphic designer with over 15 years of book design, magazine production, and photo editing experience. Barbara has served on the Friends of Art board of Sweet Briar College, and is President of the Board of the Weatherspoon Art Museum.


Ronnie Grabon (Past President)

HR Consultant and Executive Coach teaching at the Bryan School of Business at the University of North Carolina, Greensboro and the Center for Creative Leadership. Ronnie’s consultancy focuses on HR, operational and executive leadership, with extensive background in law, finance, educational and non-profit sectors. She previously worked as the VP Human Resources at Carlyle & Co. 


Board Members

Roymeico Carter

Associate Professor and Director of the Visual Arts Program at North Carolina A&T State University. Roy teaches courses on graphic design, digital media, visual literacy and theory, and social criticism. He has written articles on graphic design education, art education, gaming, human computer interaction, and graphics computer animation.



Nancy Doll

Director of the Weatherspoon Art Museum at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. Previously, Nancy served as the Executive Director of the Santa Barbara Contemporary Arts Forum and Curator of Twentieth Century Art for the Santa Barbara Museum of Art.



Chris Musselwhite

Founding Partner of MakerGenes, a consulting and design firm that focuses on creativity, innovation, and leadership. Chris is a senior trainer at the Center for Creative Leadership. He has published numerous articles and five book chapters on leadership development, manufacturing management, change management and time-based innovation.


Kevin Phillips

President of the Board of Trustees for the Phillips Foundation, which implements high-impact grants within the Greensboro/Guilford County community. At Phillips Management Group he oversees strategic growth for the organization and its portfolio of communities. Prior to his current position, Kevin worked for a subsidiary of Goldman Sachs as an analyst in Dallas, Texas.


Paula Pierce

On the board of the Greensboro Downtown Residents Association and Downtown Greensboro Incorporated. Paula is a retired Project Manager for the Social Security Administration, focused on development and implementation of national projects including electronic records for disability programs and the creation of the agency’s “2010 Vision.” 


Robert Powell

Assistant Professor in the College of Engineering at North Carolina A&T State University, working in the Energy and Building Research Division. Bob served as Assistant Director for Center for Energy Research and Technology (CERT). He received a B.S. Architectural Engineering, Stanford University in 1973 and M. Arch., Architecture, MIT in 1977.



Justin Outling

Greensboro’s District 3 City Council Member, and attorney, practicing in business litigation and arbitration at Brooks Pierce. Previously, Justin was a lawyer at Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton L.L.P. in New York City. He also served as a law clerk to the Honorable William L. Osteen, Jr. in the Middle District of North Carolina.


Micheline Chalhoub-Deville 

Professor at the School of Education at UNCG. She currently serves on the British Council Assessment Advisory Board and is the Director of Coalition of Diverse Language Communities in Greensboro. Micheline’s work focuses on the international field of language testing and assessment. In 2013 she was American University of Cairo Distinguished Visiting Professor. 

Stephanie Sherman

Co-founder and former Director of Elsewhere. Stephanie previously served as Co-Director of Common Field, a national network of artist run spaces. She was Residency Director for Provisions Library in Washington, DC and Curator for 5X5, a Project of the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities. She holds a MA in Critical Theory and Visual Culture from Duke University and a BA from the University of Pennsylvania in English Literature. 

National Advisory Board of Ambassadors

Chloë Bass
Chris Kennedy
Ricky Lee
Kat Phillips
Sheetal Prajapati
Don Russell
Stephanie Sherman
Lauren Silbert
Juana Valdes
Stacy Lynn Wadell
Agustina Woodgate


In 2003, George Scheer and Stephanie Sherman decided to transform a former thrift store into a living museum. Both were writers and collaborative world-makers. They discovered that by arranging the seemingly infinite set of things contained in the former store they were making stories and spaces for creative communities to experiment and inhabit. Over time they developed Elsewhere’s creative and organizational infrastructure, the non-profit, residency, museum, and collaborative laboratory.  They continue to be interested the role of artists in unfolding historical, political, and aesthetic potential of found spaces and the common field of national artist-run organizations.